results found.

Illinois Sales Taxes 2024 Sangamon County, Illinois Sales Tax Rate

Taxing Jurisdiction Rate
Illinois State
Sangamon County
Max City / Locality Rate
Combined Sales Tax: 9.75%

Components of the 9.75% Sangamon County sales tax

The county-level sales tax rate in Sangamon County is 1%, and all sales in Sangamon County are also subject to the 6.25% Illinois sales tax. Cities, towns, and special districts within Sangamon County collect additional local sales taxes, with a maximum sales tax rate in Sangamon County of 9.75%. The total sales tax rates for all 22 cities and towns within Sangamon County are listed in the table below.

City Name Tax Rate
Springfield, IL 9.75%
Springfield, IL 9.75%
Chatham, IL 9.75%
Rochester, IL 9.75%
Auburn, IL 7.25%
Riverton, IL 7.25%
Sherman, IL 8.25%
Pawnee, IL 7.25%
New Berlin, IL 9.75%
Pleasant Plains, IL 8.25%
Williamsville, IL 8.25%
Divernon, IL 8.25%
Dawson, IL 7.25%
Illiopolis, IL 8.25%
Mechanicsburg, IL 7.25%
Loami, IL 7.25%
Glenarm, IL 9.75%
Cantrall, IL 8.25%
Buffalo, IL 7.25%
Thayer, IL 7.25%
Lowder, IL 7.25%
Springfield, IL 7.25%
Cities or counties marked with the symbol have a local sales tax levied by that municipality

Sangamon County Sales Tax Calculator


Sales Tax:


Purchase Price + Tax:


Protip: Print out a free 9.75% sales tax table for quick sales tax calculations!

Illinois Sales Tax Lookup By Zip Code

Look up sales tax rates in Illinois by ZIP code with the tool below. Note that ZIP codes in Illinois may cross multiple local sales tax jurisdictions.

Get downloadable Illinois sales tax rate spreadsheets for your business

Sales-Taxes.com last updated the Illinois and Christian, Divernon, Illiopolis Bd Sp, Logan, Menard, Sangamon, Springfield, Springfield South Central Business District And Williamsville sales tax rate in June 2024 from the Illinois Revenue Department
** This Document Provided By Sales-Taxes.com **
Source: http://www.sales-taxes.com/il/sangamon-county